About Us: Staff and Board

Pacific Institute Staff

The staff and board of the Pacific Institute reflect our interdisciplinary perspective.

Terry Asbury, Executive Assistant

Michael J. Cohen, Senior Research Associate

Heather Cooley, Water Program Director

Kristina Donnelly, Research Associate

Cindy Foley, Finance and Operations Manager

Dr. Peter H. Gleick, President

Mai-Lan Ha, Senior Research Associate

Matthew Heberger, Senior Research Associate

Deb Janes, Development and Communications Director

Jason Morrison, Corporate Sustainability Program Director

Amanda Pebler, Communications Associate

Rapichan Phurisamban, Research Assistant

Heather Rippman, Senior Research Associate 

Peter Schulte, Senior Research Associate

Pete Stanga, Chief Operating Officer

Stefanie Woodward, Research Associate


Pacific Institute Board

Peter Boyer, Trustee of The Ayrshire Foundation, member of the National Advisory Board of the Union of Concerned Scientists, and Chair for Rocky Mountain Institute National Solutions Council.

Kelly Cash, Berkeley-based consultant in non-profit content strategy.  For two decades she was a central brand-builder for The Nature Conservancy, on teams that took the organization from 300,000 to over 1 million members and pioneered community-based conservation.

Dr. Anne H. Ehrlich, Senior Research Associate, Department of Biological Sciences at Stanford University.

Dr. Peter H. Gleick, President of the Pacific Institute for Studies in Development, Environment, and Security.

Dr. Corey Goodman, Managing Director and co-founder of venBio Partners LLC, a life sciences venture capital firm; Adjunct Professor at UCSF; Chairman of the Board of six biotechnology companies; elected member of the National Academy of Sciences; and Chair of the California Council on Science and Technology.

Margaret Gordon, Second Vice-President of the Board of Port of Oakland Commissioners and a founding member of the West Oakland Environmental Indicators Project.

Dr. Malo André Hutson, Assistant Professor at the University of California, Berkeley, Department of City and Regional Planning, specializing in community and economic development, regional planning, and urban health.

Olivier J. Marie, Vice Chair —  business strategist, former Partner at Accenture and Booz Allen & Hamilton Inc.

Jennifer McFarlane has over 25 years’ experience as a CFO in early stage companies, including two involved in developing clean technologies, as well as an investment banker, principally at Salomon Brothers.  She has been a board member on four non-profit organizations and one publicly traded company.  Ms. McFarlane is also a member of the Council on Foreign Relations.

Richard Morrison, former Senior Vice President and Director of Environmental Policies & Programs, Bank of America.

Tony Stayner balances his time between his independent investing and non-profit work, including the Board of Trustees at Crystal Springs Uplands School and as a mentor and judge for BigIdeas@Berkeley. He previously has served on the boards of Water.org and The Carey School, and has spent 20+ years managing and advising in high growth situations, including Serena Software, Network General Corporation, and Common Ground Software.

Dr. Robert Stephens, chairperson — Founder and former President of the Multi-State Working Group on Environmental Performance (MSWG). Retired in 2004 as the Assistant Secretary for Environmental Management and Sustainability at the California Environmental Protection Agency, he is currently the Chair of the International Committee of MSWG and serves as Secretariat to the United Nations Environmental Program, Best Practices Network for Sustainable Development.

Professor Michael J. Watts, Professor, Geography Department at the University of California, Berkeley where he specializes in Third World development, forestry issues, and world geography.